It’s called Colorado History, not the Persnal History of Your Specific Family for a Reason

June 18, 2012 at 9:38 am (Ranting!)

Not getting people who don’t understand that there just are not a plethora  of photos available to the public for use from small remote towns in the 1880s.  Unless they had a local photographer who liked to go out and about taking pictures,  or had something sensational and usually tragic happen in their town, they should be glad there’s even a picture of the town available that I can make accessible to them.

Oh, and if I don’t include the every detail about every resident in said small town I have written about, even when writing about one small event in said town, I have been getting reamed.  I’m sorry, but unless your great great grandpa did something important enough to be in public record, or left his papers to historical societies, etc.  I can’t access your memories of stories told and therefore cannot incorporate them.

OK – rant done.  Perhaps my next article needs to be about the importance of donating those papers, and how you can’t expect historians to know your great great grandma raised the goat that some presidential wannabe ate at some no public dinner one night in 1892.

If I were that psychic, I wouldn’t be writing about history – I’d be damn rich.

Leave a Reply

