I’m a Fucking Idiot! Yay!

June 6, 2012 at 9:19 pm (The Serious Stuff) (, , , , , )

I apologize for my temper, but I am rather tired of having had my career choices shit upon. First I was a teacher, and a good one, dealing with alternative school students. But according to other teachers – who you would think would know better – I must be a bad teacher for choosing to work with the “bad” kids – the ones they refused to have in their own classrooms because they couldn’t handle them. All other alternative school teachers I’ve ever met have been told the same things. But how are these bad teachers, when they are getting kids who normally would have dropped out through high school successfully? And in general, people now shit on teachers all the time – they make too much money (HA! That’s beyond amusing), they’re stupid, any idiot could do their job.

Then I worked in a museum, still very much an education position, even if it is non-traditional, and got told that wasn’t a real job. Really? It took both my degrees to land me the position, I had to retain MORE information, more history than I did when I was teaching, and I did more research and writing while working at the museum than I did even in college as a history and sociology major. But again, apparently, any idiot could do my job.

So I move to a new state and start my own business – only idiots run their own businesses, I’ve been told. Well hell, then I’ve been an idiot since 2003 – I’ve run my own business since then, I just took it brick and mortar for several years. Part of that business was running a postal station. It cost me a lot financially, emotionally, family wise because of the long hours and the intensity of training, and the intensity of certain seasons. Eventually, I let the store go, and have since worked for another postal station. But I’m told that any idiot could do that job.

Yeah? You could do ALL my jobs? ALL of them? ANY idiot could? Then why in the deepest fucks aren’t you?? Can’t handle the kids? awww – but any idiot can teach. Can’t handle the heat, the period clothing, the sheer amount of knowledge and people you have to deal with daily while also demonstrating the machinery in your site? awwww – but any idiot can work in a living history museum. Can’t tolerate the level of abuse, swearing, deliberate lying, complete lack of understanding of how you should address a letter or package, let alone the sheer number of customers certain times of year in a post office? awwww- but any idiot can do it.

Apparently, I’m ANY IDIOT- because I’ve done all of these things, successfully.

VIVE LA IDIOTS.

2 Comments

  1. Jeanne said,

    Idiots are what make the world go around. I’ve been accused of being an idiot (by customers) for working in restaurants. That must be the level of my intelligence, since I didn’t get a “real” job. Then again, insulting the person that is preparing their food seems pretty idiotic to me! I am now going to go hide in the office of the restaurant I work at and lick the windows while people pass by….

  2. Carol Williams said,

    I’ve been working as a rural rte. carrier for 26 yrs. I’m an idiot too!!!!

Leave a Reply

