So I’m Applying for this job today…

August 11, 2011 at 5:33 pm (Random Thoughts)

It’s a job to be a web based advice columnist, especially for relationships.

This I can do – and why, do you ask? Because of high school.  I wrote this part in my letter of application; it explains why I’m so suited to it.

In high school, I always had people coming to me for relationship advice.  I never thought much of it until the day that I, general average kid, group floater, was sitting at a lunch table with the head cheerleader and the school secret lesbian. (Hey, this was 1980, it wasn’t cool yet to be gay or bi!)  The cheerleader was asking me for advice n how to maintain her relationship with her BF – you guessed it, they were the stereotype; he was captain of the football team- post abortion.  The secret lesbian was asking my advice on how to maintain her relationship with her girlfriend, who was in jail.

At this point, my head started spinning a bit.  People who didn’t talk to each other, who didn’t talk to me, were both sitting there at the same table with me, looking at me for solutions.  How did I even get this reputation?  A week later, the toughest girl and bully stoner in the school is crying on MY shoulder because she’s pregnant.  A girl who threatened daily to beat me up half of ninth grade, a year later is looking to me for solace.

Needless to say, high school was a very WTF time for me.  And it didn’t stop.  Even now, people who are complete strangers ask me for advice, especially relationship advice.  They look to me as to what to do next. I have literally been stopped on the street, been in Victorian dress in a museum setting and  been asked what to do, been at an anime convention, been shopping for groceries.

 Now I won’t name names; in fact, I’d have to go back to my HS yearbook to figure out exactly who these people are anymore.  I don’t even know if they are still about, or moved to some forreign, exotic place.  What I do know is that I’m a magnet for those needing advice.  Sometimes I can help, sometimes I can’t.  But people still come to me for this help.

I did learn one other thing – maybe it’s time to put down the sewing and get back to writing.  I can’t even figure out how to log into my Associated Content page anymore, and it’s been at least a year and a half since I wrote on Hubpages, and well, you can see that this blog is lagging, expcept when I get all het up about something.

I haven’t even talked about my new projects or anything in a long time.

Maybe it’s time to put down the needle (sewing needle, twits!) step away from the chat room, and start to serious work again.  After all, it’s almost fall!

(I dunno what that has to do with anything, but I said it anyway!)

Oh yes I do – If I’m not writing Colorado History, who will the kids plagarize for their school reports?  Just kidding. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

