Trying to not be Butthurt

January 25, 2011 at 7:41 pm (The Serious Stuff)

So it’s been a month.  And people I barely know, including friends of my mother’s from her boards and in real life, are showing me more support than the one “friend” who I thought would understand, someone who’d been in the same place last year.  Same woman couldn’t even be bothered to even give an “I’m sorry” in way of condolences.

Spouse had a friend like this – and I’m starting to understand completely why spouse feels the way he does about said “friend”.

These “friends” aren’t friends; they are, to put it bluntly, users.  If it serves to help them, then they are there, but when you need even as little as a friendly word, they’re gone. Well, perhaps we don’t need “friends” like these.

To those people who have been supportive – thank you, it’s been  very helpful.  I appreciate all you have said and done for all of us.

4 Comments

  1. Jamie said,

    Lisa times like these will show who true friends are. Unfortunately the world isn’t full of people like your mom or it would be a much better place to live.

    If there is anything I can do to help just let me know!
    Jamie

  2. lkeipp said,

    Thanks, Jamie – mom had some good friends, and you are one of them!

  3. Liberty said,

    ((((((( big hugs )))))))))))))

    I’m sorry your “real” friends show less compassion than online friends.
    Hang in there

  4. kourtnie said,

    your good

Leave a Reply

